Latte Bars

3 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 tsp. vanilla
1/4 cup butter, melted
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 cup instant coffee crystals
1/4 cup milk or heavy cream
1 cup pecans, chopped
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

At home: preheat oven to 325. Lightly grease a 13 by 9 inch pan. Beat the eggs in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Add the sugar, vanilla and butter, beating to combine. Stir in the flour and salt. Set aside 1 � cups of batter. Stir the coffee crystals and cream and add to the remaining batter. Spread the coffee batter into the prepared pan. Add chocolate chips to the reserved batter and spoon over the coffee batter. Run a knife through the two batters to marble them. Sprinkle the pecans over the top. Bake 20-25 minutes or until the center is firm and set. Cool before cutting into bars. Wrap tightly in plastic wrap.

In camp: unwrap and enjoy! Makes about 2 dozen.

Note: These firm up as they cool. They are not like a granola bar. More like a dense coffee cake or brownie.

This recipe courtesy of One Pan Wonders

10 responses to this post.

  1. […] Here is a recipe I tried for one of our backpacking trips that was wildly popular: latte bars. […]

    Reply

  2. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & aid other customers like its helped me. Good job.

    Reply

  3. Your method of describing everything in this post is genuinely
    fastidious, all be capable of effortlessly know it, Thanks a lot.

    Reply

  4. I do consider all the ideas you have offered to your post. They’re really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are too short for newbies. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

    Reply

  5. I pay a visit day-to-day some web sites and websites
    to read articles, but this web site presents quality based posts.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Carol Nielsen on July 10, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    I love this recpie I make these every time I backpack, way better than instant oatmeal 🙂

    Reply

  7. Another great recipe, a candy bar full of energy!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Scouting Tiffany on June 10, 2014 at 11:04 am

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! I left out the nuts & they were still an enormous hit, a great pick-me-up in the afternoon!! I can not wait to try the Chai in place of the coffee. I had enough, that I took some to our local scout shop and the ladies in the shop and the scout office loved them. They were quick & easy to make.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Sarah on June 29, 2014 at 1:21 am

    I used the recipe pretty much to note, but added in a bunch of toasted oats and toasted rye flakes and they were delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

