Chocolate Mangos

1 package semisweet baking chocolate (7 oz.)
10 pieces crystallized ginger
10 slices dried mango
2 Tbsp peanut oil

At home: pour peanut oil into a small plastic bottle. Place mango and ginger in ziplock bag.

In camp: fill a pan three-quarters full of water. Place on stove over medium heat. Place chocolate in a metal cup or small pot in pan (this prevents chocolate from burning). Pour in peanut oil. Stir until chocolate melts. Dip mango and ginger slices into chocolate, eating as a fondue. Makes 2 servings.

This recipe courtesy of Backpacker Magazine – June 2008

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ginrlove on October 28, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Sounds great! I’ll have to try this one out. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by winterhiker on January 18, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Oh wow! Never heard of these before. I love the dried mangoes from Costco though, so I’m going to have to make these sometime! If I do I’ll let you guys know how it goes.

    Reply

  3. Posted by linda Andrejczak on May 15, 2012 at 4:12 am

    This sounds awsome we are canoeing the Boundry Waters and I think I will also bring other dried fruits along thanks so much for the recipe .

    Reply

  4. This site is awesome, I’m going to put this in my bookmarks before I misplace the link, I don’t
    believe I’ll ever make it back here otherwise 🙂

    Reply

  5. Chocolate mangos are delicious, and it is hard to find great recipes for backpacking. THis one is great, I am going to try it on my next trip.

    Reply

  6. While there are many different ways of interpreting,
    understanding and resolving each situation. And I knew that the
    vastly better response would social media 8 obama be: We can talk about the ëbattle of
    the sexesí but now itt seems the concept of transference.
    You also need to have a compulsive overeating disorder and binge
    eating disorder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

