Original Hot Chocolate

2 cups nonfat dry milk powder
3/4 cups sugar
1/2 cup Hershey’s cocoa
1/2 cup powdered non-dairy creamer

At home: combine all ingredients into a quart size ziplock bag. Makes 16 servings.

In camp: to make a single serving, combine a 1/4 cup of mix to 3/4 cup boiling water.

This recipe courtesy of Wild Backpacker

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by winterhiker on January 18, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I’ve never made my own hot chocolate mix before, I’ve always just used the premade stuff. But I’m going to try this tomorrow night when my house is cold and I just need something to warm me up! I’ll let you guys know how it tastes!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Y3K on January 22, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    This sounds great right now. It is a blizzard outside right now and you can’t see 30 feet in front of you. This is when you need a hot chocolate. If I was to be backpacking in that though, a hot chocolate would be amazing. But what kind of idiot would go outside in this anyways!

    Y3K is coming! Prepare!

    Reply

  3. Posted by just enjoying life on January 27, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    I’ve just sort of made my own hot chocolate from scratch each time, making it different each time, but I just tried this recipe and it tastes great! I recommend not adding so much sugar though.

    Reply

  4. Posted by CJ on July 4, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Taking first sips and here is my initial reaction:

    First – how I made the recipe:

    2 cups skim milk powder
    1/2 cup sugar
    1/2 cup cocoa
    1/2 cup soy milk powder

    Made single serving: 1/4 cup mix to approx 1 cup boiling water.
    (Note: made above at home, not on trail)

    Very rich flavour but a touch dry and a spot bitter.

    Next time I will:
    -omit sugar completely and Stevia to taste when mixed OR use closer to 3/4 cup sugar
    -try increasing the soy milk powder to 1 cup (possibly use soy milk powder for all)
    -add a dash of peppermint flavouring when mixed with hot water 🙂

    Overall, I absolutely LOVE this recipe and will be making it again. I now have my first attempt in a glass container in my cupboard just begging to be made. YUMMY!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

